Retro Z80 is now Zalt

Previously I have headed my blog posts with ‘Retro Z80’ to indicate my Z80 computer project.

Although the Z80 part is correct and can be considered retro, the rest of my project is not so retro. I use a Cypress PSoC 5 as a System Controller that is an ARM processor and a CPLD/FPGA combined. I also use the Altera Max II (EPM240) CPLD. Both these devices are hardly retro, not the latest greatest – bleeding edge, but certainly not retro – at least not in the next few years.

So when I was creating a target for the z88dk I had to come up with a name. It was at that time that I choose Zalt. Obviously it sounds like salt. Sweet short and a little different.

The Z in Zalt refers to the Z80 CPU. The ‘alt’ in Zalt is for alternative. Because I am not sticking to true retro components I thought this was very appropriate.

So from now on, my blog posts about my Z80 computer project will be headed with Zalt instead of Retro Z80.

 

Published in: on June 24, 2016 at 5:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jacobielectronix.wordpress.com/2016/06/24/retro-z80-is-now-zalt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

